There are seven categories for the 2019 Duty of Care Awards: 

  1. Innovation - This award recognises new or novel approaches to identifying, managing and mitigating risk, including utilising advancements in technology.
  2. Remote Resilience - This award recognises developing organisational robustness to protect the health, security and safety of people working in challenging, extreme or remote environments.
  3. Communications - This award recognises the effective communications campaigns or programmes that mitigate travel, health or security risk to mobile workers.
  4. Ambassador of Duty of Care - This category recognises an individual who has made significant impact in protecting people travelling and working abroad.
  5. Education - This category recognises effective programmes that mitigate health, security and travel risks to students, faculty and others staff in the education sector.
  6. Sustainability - This category recognises the role of Duty of Care and Travel Risk Management in an organisation’s Corporate Social Responsibility and Sustainability programme.
  7. Belt and Road Initiative *New Category* - This category recognises organisations investing in the Belt and Road initiative to help promote international relations, mobility and sustainability whilst ensuring a high quality standard of Duty of Care. 


There are four core assessment criteria common to each award. Judges will assess each award for completeness, depth and how clearly they meet the criteria below. 

  1. Performance Improvement – What results were achieved?

  2. Leadership and Management Commitment – What role did leaders and managers play in the project?

  3. Stakeholder Engagement – How were internal (and external where applicable) stakeholders involved and engaged in this project?

  4. Longevity – How will this project continue to deliver value / benefits to the health and safety of workers?
All entries for a Duty of Care Award must demonstrate measurable results and improvements that can be objectively observed and assessed. 



This year, the Awards entry process is fully electronic and can be completed online. On 7 January, we will open dedicated website to submit entries.  Awards Entry Terms and Conditions can be found here.

All entries except for the Ambassador category require:

  1. Executive Summary in support of the specific category (Maximum 100 words)
  2. Programme Description in support of the specific category (Maximum 1000 words)
  3. Organisation or Company logo.
  4. Attachments such as documents, presentations, photos, videos or a website to support your entry.

The Ambassador category requires:

  • Entry statement (Maximum 500 words)
  • Two signed supporting statements from employer, client or partner
  • CV or Resume
  • Organisation or Company logo