duty of care Awards

2023 Duty of Care Awards 


The International SOS Foundation is pleased to announce that we have launched the 2023 Duty of Care Awards. The Awards, honour organisations, institutions, NGOs and individuals that have raised the standards of protecting the health, safety, security and wellbeing of their people. 

For over six years, the Awards have recognised organisations that fulfil their Duty of Care responsibilities by enhancing work conditions globally, improve people’s welfare and ultimately, help save lives.

Awards Timeline:

  • 21 November 2022: Entries Close 
  • February 2023: Shortlist Announced 
  • May 2023: Winners Announced 

Stay tuned for more information!

Explore our six award categories:

  • Communications - This award recognises an effective communications campaign or programme aimed at mitigating health or security risks impacting a global workforce. Examples include, internal and external communication plans built to proactively inform on topics, threats or news to provide clarity or two-way communication tools used to interact with employees both domestically and while abroad.  
  • COVID-19 Agility & Response - This category recognises an organisation that demonstrated outstanding response to COVID-19 in protecting the health and wellbeing of their workforce. From information or advice to mental health support and evacuations, this organisation has been on the front foot of ensuring their people remain safe and their organisation remains resilient.
  • Duty of Care Ambassador - This category recognises an individual who has made significant impact in protecting their workforce. From spearheading internal programmes or leading the development of new policies or procedures, this individual has led the way in their organisation, taking a prominent role in the protecting their workforce.
  • Environmental, Social and Corporate Governance (ESG) - This category recognises the role of Duty of Care and Risk Management in an organisation’s Environmental, Social and Corporate Governance programme. Initiatives supporting but not limited to the environment, people, workplace or community, should demonstrate a connection to one of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals set by the United Nations or reflect measurable results in ensuring business continuity.
  • Inclusion & Diversity - This category recognises effective programmes that promote inclusion, diversity and equal opportunity within the workplace. Through communication programmes, internal policies or events, this organisation has led the way in creating a working environment that is inclusive and supportive of their workforce.
  • Innovation - This category recognises new or novel approaches to identifying, managing and mitigating risk, including utilising advancements in technology. Whether to make healthcare more accessible or to proactively communicate or track your workforce, technology and innovation should be at the core of your campaign. 


Who can apply? 

The Awards are global and open to all organisations, individuals and NGOs across all industries and sizes.

Those working in Human Resources, Occupational Health & Safety, Security, Risk Management, Sustainability and Travel Management are encouraged to apply.

What is the judging criteria?

The Awards are supported by a panel of sector-leading expert judges from a host of internationally recognised organisations. They assessed each entry for completeness, depth and how clearly they meet the criteria below.

  1. Performance Improvement – What results were achieved?
  2. Leadership and Management Commitment – What role did leaders and managers play in the project?
  3. Stakeholder Engagement – How were internal (and external where applicable) stakeholders involved and engaged in this project?
  4. Longevity – How will this project continue to deliver value / benefits to the health and safety of workers?

All entries for a Duty of Care Awards must demonstrate measurable results and improvements that can be objectively observed and assessed.